APREF Education Scholarship

We are pleased to announce the two inaugural APREF Education Scholarship recipients:

  • Congratulations to Will Lonergan, Rosny College, Hobart recipient of the Tasmanian APREF Education Scholarship; and,
  • Congratulations to Meg Eishold, Goulburn Valley Grammar School, resides in Echuca recipient of the Rural/Regional Education Scholarship.

Each APREF Education scholarship recipient will undertake a three-year undergraduate valuation degree accredited by the API. Recipients will also have access to senior property professionals who will act as a mentors during their studies.

Peter Barrington Award – Dr Tiffany Hutcheson

The Peter Barrington award is designed to encourage research and excellence in the study of land economy through the presentation of a major work in support of an approved academic program. It was established in 1985. The Award is open to all Australian students undertaking a course of study at the Masters or PHD level in a property professional field at an Australian academic institution.

Dr Tiffany Hutcheson completed her PhD in property at Western Sydney University with Graeme Newell as her supervisor, graduating in December 2019. Dr Tiffany Hutcheson has selected an important strategic property investment topic regarding the articulation of the property investment strategies used by superannuation funds in Australia. In doing so, she has actively engaged the property industry in this research. Tiffany showed a high level of critical understanding of property as an asset class and the strategic role of property for superannuation funds.