The Australian Property Institute has today announced the finalists of its 2020 Excellence in Property Awards, celebrating outstanding achievement in the property profession.

Australian Property Institute CEO Amelia Hodge said the entries received this year were reflective of a diverse and innovative property industry. 

We were excited to receive such high calibre entries for the awards. The results were particularly close in a number of categories, making it a very difficult decision for the judges.

The finalists of the 2020 Excellence in Property Awards are:

Workplace Diversity and Culture Award 

  • ICD Property – People Project Team 
  • JLL 
  • m3property 

The Workplace Diversity and Culture Award, sponsored by Herron Todd White, recognises leadership and excellence from an organisation or government department in promoting diversity and creating a progressive workplace culture for the advancement of the property sector. 

Gary BrinkworthChief Executive Officer at Herron Todd White said the organisation was proud to sponsor the 2020 API Excellence in Property Workplace Diversity and Culture award.  

Congratulations to the ICD Property – People Project Team, JLL and m3property for being recognised as finalists in this important category. Promoting workplace diversity and creating a progressive culture are key elements to building a stronger future through innovative leadership and the broadening of shared experiences. Best of luck to the 2020 finalists and thank you to the API for continuing to recognise and promote excellence in our industry.

Valuation Team of the Year Award 

  • CBRE – Residential Valuations PropertyPRO Project Team 
  • m3property 
  • Valuer General NSW 

The Valuation Team of the Year Award, sponsored by Marsh Insurance, recognises excellence in the application of valuation standards and a commitment to best practice across a valuation team. 

As proud partners of the API and appointed intermediary of API Valcover, we are delighted to be sponsoring the 2020 Excellence in Property Awards. The program provides a great platform and opportunity for industry partners, companies and individuals to come together and celebrate those who are making waves in the property industry,” said Gary Ward, Principal – Infinity at Marsh Insurance.

“Marsh has selected the valuation team of the year award to recognise the talent, commitment and elite professionalism of industry-leading valuation teams across Australia. We look to offer our ongoing support for the valuation industry and to continue to arrange professional indemnity cover that’s aimed at creating a more stable insurance environment for API Members.”

Young Property Professional of the Year Award 

  • Kate Elkington, m3property (VIC) 
  • Donald Johnson, Opteon (WA) 
  • James Paver, Avenor (NSW) 
  • Jack Tronson, CBRE (VIC) 

The Young Professional of the Year Award, sponsored by Griffin Legal, recognises outstanding contribution and professional excellence of a young property professional.

Carina Zeccola, Managing Partner at Griffin Legal, said the organisation is proud to support the Australian Property Institute’s Excellence in Property Awards because we recognise the value of attention to detail and quality in all professional industries.

Griffin Legal is a company helmed by innovative leaders. We sponsor the Young Professional of the Year award category because we recognise the potential of young people, and the potential of their new ideas and innovations. As a nationally operating law firm, the Griffin Legal team are specialists at Property Law and Conveyancing services. Sponsoring this award promotes our Property Law profile and our commitment to integrity and excellence in property.

Innovation in Property Award 

  • Herron Todd White – National Office Team 
  • MAB Corporation 
  • Preston Rowe Paterson Australasia

The Innovation in Property Award, sponsored by The University of Melbourne, recognises innovation from an individual, team or organisation in the property sector. 

The Lesley Bennett Women in Property Award 

  • Lisa Billington, Opteon (VIC) 
  • Aleisha Brookes, JLL (QLD) 
  • Caitlin Harper, CBRE (WA) 
  • Jacqueline Reiser, CBRE (QLD) 

The Lesley Bennett Women in Property Award, sponsored by Preston Rowe Paterson, is named after the Australian Property Institute’s first female member, and recognises leadership, professionalism and outstanding property community contribution.

Greg Sugars FAPI, National Director and CEO of Preston Rowe Paterson, said

Preston Rowe Paterson is delighted to once again be the sponsors of the Lesley Bennett-Women in Property Award. Valuations has, in the past, been a male dominated industry and we are keen to assist with the push for diversity and gender equality in the industry. As corporate signatories to the Women’s Empowerment Principles via the United Nations, PRP felt this was the logical award for us to be involved in. We wish all the wonderful finalists the best of luck.

The Colonel Alfred Clifford Catt Award 

  • Duncan Cameron, Opteon (WA) 
  • Walter Leo Dobrow (NSW) 
  • Tyrone Hodge, JLL (NSW)

The Colonel Alfred Clifford Catt Award, sponsored by Valuecorp, named in honour of the first President of the Commonwealth Institute of Valuers (the Australian Property Institute’s original name), and recognises contribution and commitment to the property profession and the community of the Australian Property Institute.

Robert Hecek LFAPI, Managing Director of Valuecorp, said:

We are proud to sponsor the Colonel Alfred Clifford Catt Award in 2020. Colonel A. C. Catt was the first API President in 1926-1928. This has been an unforeseen year of change and the global pandemic has changed the way API members work globally and will in the future. It is important to remember the great and humble beginnings of our great Institute and the visionary people (such as Colonel A. C. Catt) who set the foundation for an industry which is today the world’s leading home for property professionals.

“Congratulations to all the finalists and thank you to all of our sponsors for your support. The winners will be announced shortly and presented at the next opportunity when it is safe to do so,” said Ms Hodge. 

About the Excellence in Property Awards

The Australian Property Institute Excellence in Property Awards program is designed to recognise both individuals and organisations in the public and private sector who are leading the way in the property industry. A judging panel of distinguished industry leaders is brought together to critically assess all entries in their individual categories. More about the judges and previous winners can be found here.