Bruce Billson appointed to API Board

Bruce Bilson

The Australian Property Institute welcomes Mr Billson as an independent non-Executive Director of the API Ltd Board, effective 29 April 2019

Bruce brings governance, strategic leadership and member-based organisation experience to the API.  Bruce is an AICD Company Director course graduate and has earned a Bachelor of Business, Graduate Diploma of Management and Masters Of Business Leadership (RMIT) and is a member of the ACCC's Small Business and Franchise Advisory Committee.

Bruce was a member of the Liberal Party of Australia, representing the Division of Dunkley in Victoria from 1996 to 2016. He was also Minister for Small Business from September 2013 to September 2015.

As a Treasury portfolio Cabinet Minister, Bruce spearheaded that Abbott Government’s SME agenda to ‘energise enterprise’, leading the formulation of the 2015 Federal Budget's Jobs and Small Business package to boost entrepreneurship; reforms to competition policy and law; unfair contract terms protections for small business; repair of employee share schemes laws; a new crowd-sourced equity funding framework; and industry code reforms for franchising and the food & grocery sector.

Since retiring as an undefeated 7-term member of the Australian House of Representatives in 2016, Bruce has developed a portfolio of interests including as an independent non-Executive Director for SME 'challenger' bank, Judo Capital.  He is founder and principal of policy advice/advocacy and strategic communications/stakeholder relations firm, Agile Advisory; Special Counsel to Royce Communications; Director of Small Business & Enterprise at Deakin University's Business School; Chair of the Deakin/IPA SME Research Centre Advisory Council; and member/chair for several private business advisory committees.  With Deakin University, Bruce has produced on-line training programs published on the global FutureLearn platform on 'SME Digital Engagement' and on 'SME New Markets/Trade'. Prior to joining the API Board, Bruce was the Executive Chairman/independent Director of the industry association for the franchise sector, Franchise Council of Australia from 2016-2018.